Honoring the Corporate Excellence

the HRM Nepal Awards for Corporate Excellence 2021 & the HRM Nepal Awards for Distinguished Services 2021

PM Sher Bahadur Deuba presenting with ‘the HRM Nepal Award for Distinuished Services – Lifetime Achievement’ award to Ganesh Bahadur Shrestha.

In what can be termed the first awards program of its kind organized in Nepal, Corporate Club Pvt Ltd, the sister organization of Growth Sellers Pvt Ltd, has honored the excellence of the Nepali corporate sector on January 7. The first edition of the HRM Nepal Award for Corporate Excellence and the HRM Nepal Awards for Distinguished Service was graced by Prime Minister Sher Bahadur Deuba and was enthusiastically participated by the who’s who of the Nepali corporate fraternity.

A total of 19 awards were presented by the organizers during the gala event held at the Soaltee Kathmandu. The HRM Award was divided into two broad categories of Award for Corporate Excellence and Award for Distinguished Service.

Three pioneer individuals who made special contributions in the field of health and education, namely Dr Sanduk Ruit, Dr Bhagwan Koirala and Dr Suresh Raj Sharma were honored by PM Deuba with the ‘Award for Distinguished Service 2021- Institution Builder’. The three recipients were awarded for their pioneering works in setting up and transforming the Tilganga Institute of Ophthalmology, Sahid Gangalal National Heart Centre and Kathmandu University, respectively.
Dr Ruit, a pioneer eye surgeon has directly changed the lives of over 100,000 people as well as established the world-class Tilganga Institute of Ophthalmology.
Dr Koirala, a consultant cardiac surgeon renowned for pioneering open-heart surgery in Nepal, Koirala played a key role in setting up the Gangalal National Heart Centre and in establishing the Manmohan Cardiothoracic Vascular and Transplant Centre.

Dr Suresh Raj Sharma, a visionary educationalist is the founder Vice Chancellor of Kathmandu University, Nepal’s leading not-for-profit and self-funding public university known for its academic excellence.

PM Deuba presented Ganesh Bahadur Shrestha, Chairman of Pokhara-based Laxmi Group with ‘the HRM Nepal Award for Distinguish Services 2021- Lifetime Achievement’. Shrestha, a first-generation entrepreneur transformed his modest confectionery business into a diversified conglomerate with interest in dairy, automobiles, plastic, steel, packaging and manufacturing in a span of four decades.

The honors for best startup and social enterprise were given to Sato Deal and Teach for Nepal.

The corporate excellence award saw the best of the Nepali companies winning laurels for their special efforts, impact and contribution.

Hari Bhakta Sharma, Executive Director of Deurali Janata Pharmaceutical was conferred with ‘the HRM Nepal Award for Corporate Excellence 2021- Leadership – Male’. The Confederation of Nepalese Industries (CNI) President Vishnu Kumar Agrawal handed over the award to Sharma.

Banker Anupama Khunjeli walked away with the honor of ‘the HRM Nepal Award Corporate Excellence 2021- Leadership – Female’.

The corporate excellence award in manufacturing was presented to Kiran Shoes Manufacturers, the makers of popular Goldstar shoes.

Muktinath Bikas Bank edged two leading commercial banks to grab the excellence award in financial services.

And, it was Shikhar Insurance Company that won the excellence award in the insurance services category.

The excellence award in the IT/ISP services category was presented to Dish Media Network, one of the country’s leading Direct-to-Home (DTH) service providers.
The country’s first five-star hotel, Soaltee Kathmandu was honored with an excellence award in hospitality service. The honors for excellence in health service and pharmaceutical industry went to Tilganga Institute of Ophthalmology and Quest Pharmaceuticals respectively.

Butwal Power Company, one of the leading companies in Nepal’s power sector received the excellence award in the hydropower service category. One of the country’s fastest-growing companies, Nimbus Holdings was presented with the excellence award in the agribusiness category.

The honor of excellence in the MNC category went to Asian Paints (Nepal) Pvt Ltd. And, the excellence award in fintech service was presented to eSewa.
Addressing the award ceremony, PM Deuba said that awards like this have special importance as they encourage the private sector to achieve excellence in business.
“There is a need to prioritize policies and programs for the development and management of human resources. The government is sensitive about identifying manpower for sectoral need and design skill and capacity building programs,” said Deuba. According to the PM, effective management of skilled and experienced manpower is the main foundation of a successful economy. “The government is seriously observing the fact that the speed of an economy is determined by the productivity of the human resources,” he said.

Speaking on the occasion, Vishnu Kumar Agrawal, President of CNI, said that skilled human resources that can meet the demand of job were crucial for the success of any business. “But unfortunately, we have a situation where there is labor migration to foreign countries while businesses and industries are not getting enough manpower, this gap must be filled at the earliest,” he said.

Rajendra Malla, President of Nepal Chamber of Commerce, pointed to the need for devising a strategy to utilize the skills of migrant workers and young people who want to run business in Nepal.

Mohan Ojha, Chairperson of the award steering committee, said that the awards were launched to promote good practice in the corporate sector.
“These awards are designed to show honor and facilitate the corporate leaders contributing to the business growth and people offering their service selflessly. We want to create positive vibes in the business and society,” he said.

How were the Organizations and Individuals Selected for the Awards?

It was hard work and preparations of five months that made it possible to announce and felicitate the winners of the HRM Nepal Awards for Corporate Excellence and the HRM Nepal Award for Distinguished Services. To initiate the process, Corporate Club Nepal (CCN) formed a seven-member Independent Award Jury comprising experts from the domains of management, banking, public administration, media and business. The Jury panel was led by Prof. Subas KC with Prof. Rita Shrestha, Ashwini Thakur, Barsha Shrestha, Punya Prasad Neupane, Ashutosh Tiwari and Mukul Humagain as members.

Then, the CCN team generated a pool of potential organizations and individuals to include in the evaluation process. The Jury panel then shortlisted the organizations and individuals for each award under both categories- Award for Corporate Excellence and Award for Distinguished Service.

An independent research team was assigned to get the details of the shortlisted organizations and individuals. Based on the findings of the research team as well as their own observation, the Jury finalized three organizations in each category. The Jury members independently rated the shortlisted organizations on a 10-point measurement scale for each criterion developed for this purpose. The award winners were decided by the Jury by selecting the highest scoring organization.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top