Pariyar, the first dalit woman CDO
Sita Pariyar has become the first Chief District Officer (CDO) from the Dalit community. The Home Ministry has recently given Pariyar the responsibility of CDO of Humla.

Pariyar entered civil service as a section officer on September 4, 2011 from an open category. She worked as a local development officer for Dolakha and Bhojpur districts in 2015 and 2017, respectively. Then she served as a chief administrative officer of three local bodies: Chandragiri Municipality (2018), Janakpur Dham Sub-Metropolitan City (2019) and Kirtipur Municipality in (2020). She has master’s degree in sociology from Tri-Chandra College.

Kattel appointed CEO of Excel Development Bank
Dr Indra Kumar Kattel has been appointed as the CEO of Excel Development Bank Limited. A meeting of the bank’s board of directors held on Chaitra 3 decided to appoint Dr. Kattel to the post. Earlier, he was Deputy CEO at Citizens Investment Trust. Dr. Kattel, who is a Ph.D. in Management from Mewar University, India, has 34 years of experience in the financial sector. He joined Rastriya Banijya Bank Limited in 1988 and worked there in different positions till 2017 and is considered an expert in risk management.

Shah appointed CEO of HGI
Vijay Bahadur Shah has been appointed as the CEO of Himalayan General Insurance (HGI) Company Limited. A meeting of the board of directors of the company held on January 10 had decided to appoint Shah to the post in place of Sushil Bajracharya. Bajracharya, who was appointed as CEO of HGI in July 2019 for four years, left the company a year and a half before the completion of his second tenure. Shah was earlier CEO of Nepal Insurance Company Limited.

Thakuri joins Fonepay as COO
Siddhant Thakuri has been appointed as the Chief Operating Officer (COO) of Fonepay, a digital payment services company. Thakuri who is a banker was earlier Manager – Digital Excellence at Nabil Bank Limited. He has worked at Nabil Bank for more than 18 years. Thakuri has over a decade of experience in card and digital banking services and has also worked in marketing, operations and risk management for over eight years. He is an MBA from Kathmandu University School of Management (KUSOM).

Thapa, Neupane promoted as Deputy CEOs of Machhapurchhre Bank
Sarju Kumar Thapa and Bishwambhar Neupane have been promoted to the post of Deputy CEOs in Machhapuchhre Bank Limited. Similarly, Prasidha Raj Aryal has been promoted to Deputy General Manager.

Both Thapa and Neupane have more than two decades of experience in banking. Thapa is in the bank’s high management for a long time and has efficient leadership, managerial skills and is capable of multi-banking business. Similarly, Neupane has long experience in operations and risk management. Likewise, Aryal has also spent nearly two decades in the banking sector and has experience working in the fields of credit business, treasury, branch operation and microfinance.

Govt appoints Hamal as Chairperson of Nepse
Ramesh Kumar Hamal has been appointed as the Chairperson of the Securities Board of Nepal (SEBON). The post in SEBON was vacant for six months after incumbent Bhisma Raj Dhungana was sacked for his alleged involvement in a share buying scandal of Sarbottam Cement.

Hamal has nearly three decades of experience in public and private sectors in Nepal and abroad. He has worked in international institutions such as United Nations Environment Project and British Investment Consultancy and Real Estate Development Group Bank. Originally from Doti, he is a graduate of electrical engineering from Siliguri, India and has also worked for the Nepal Electricity Authority for eight years. Hamal, who is former President of Non-Resident Nepalese Association (NRNA) Thailand has experience in foreign stock markets. He is known as an entrepreneur and expert in infrastructure development, finance, real estate and tourism.

Govt appoints Thani as NOC Executive Director
Umesh Prasad Thani of Surkhet has been appointed as the Executive Director of Nepal Oil Corporation (NOC). A cabinet meeting held on March 10 decided to appoint Thani as the executive director of the NOC.

Earlier, the Ministry of Industry, Commerce, and Supplies (MoICS), the selection committee has recommended three names – Thani, Chandika Prasad Bhatta, and Jeevan Prakash Sitaula for the post of NOC chief to the Cabinet. In response to the public call issued by the ministry two months ago, a total of 17 individuals had applied for the position.

Thani, who is considered close to the Nepali Congress, has worked as a member of the board of directors of the Nepal Electricity Authority.

Khanal appointed as acting CEO of Kumari Bank
The Kumari Bank Limited (KBL)has promoted Ram Chandra Khanal as the acting Chief Executive Officer of the bank. The bank board decided to appoint Khanal as acting CEO after the acting CEO Anuj mani Timilsina and Deputy CEO Manish Timilsina resigned voluntarily. Khanal was earlier working as the COO of the bank.

Ghimire appointed CEO of Gurkhas Finance
Santosh Kumar Ghimire has been appointed as the CEO of Gurkhas Finance Limited. Ghimire will head the finance company for the next four years.

Leave a Comment

Scroll to Top